Medal, Flowers, Podium!!!

Podium

Podium

University games are now complete and finally I have a result that will stay with me for the rest of my life! Coming so close in each event, 10th, 7th and always only one miss away from a medal I knew I had a good chance of getting onto the podium in the pursuit event. I started 7th, and I managed to fight my way through to 3rd! It has been my goal to get international flowers (Top 6) for quite some time now, and now it has finally happened! Yes, it may be only World University Games, but for me this was special. The Russians had very strong boys in their team, with most of them having titles like Junior World Champion or an Open European Champ. Half of them have raced World Cup before, so I knew they were the ones to look out for! But they weren’t the only contenders, NOR, SWE, GER,CZE, SVK and especially the Ukraine boys with a guy that came 6th in the World Cup just a week before, he was 5th in the pursuit.

Pursuit Start

Pursuit Start

I felt really good throughout all the races, but in the pursuit everything just seemed easy. I concentrated on having precise shooting, and without even pushing myself to the limits, I still managed to have 4rd fastest ski time. Yes I will admit that the last lap was tough, we were pushing hard and battling for the podium, and having 4 Russians in the pack that played a little tactical it wasn’t easy! It may of been possible to get a better position by either not missing my last shot on standing or going out first and skiing as fast as I can on the last lap. But 3rd for me, was like a gold!! Very happy, very satisfied! I was also hoping for a good result in the Mass start, I lead out of the start and then found out my skis were absolute shockers! lost 15 places on the downhill. So will not comment on that race.

20131216_113647_3

Before Uni Games started I felt bad on my skis but still had some reasonable results, like coming 56th in my first World Cup. The second WC wasn’t so flash, and I could feel I wasn’t race ready. I was still making under 15% in each race which is the Qualification for the Olympics. I am definitely happy now to finally find my race legs!

Leading out of the Mass Start

Leading out of the Mass Start

We have now arrived to Ridnaun (ITA). A very nice place with superb dining and an awesome Wellness Centre. I do although have some bad news, I woke up this morning a sick, sore throat and congested. I guess when you’re on form an athlete is prone to getting sick, that’s just tough luck. I will hope to fight it off quick and hopefully not loose my great shape!

Everyone Swapping Uniform!

Everyone Swapping Uniform!

Decent Italian Pizza!

Decent Italian Pizza!

2 thoughts on “Medal, Flowers, Podium!!!

  1. That must have been great excitement for you Alex – we are all sitting around after opening our presents early Christmas Morning and I was reading to the whole family your message email and we all say Merry Christmas from your special friends forever back in Sydney /it is a cool overcast day here which is kind if nice, no wind and no rain so good for eating max 23 today. We have Max back from China after 17 days as guest of his Chinese school best mate touring around and hanging out at their main house near Beijing in a city called T something. Jack is now stroke/ captain of the Senior V111 rowing and is training 6 days a week long hours during summer holiday at and he also got his very high certificates in Surf & helicopter rescue and is working professionally during summer Monday / Friday stationed at Palm beach – not bad $26 per hour doing what he loves and keeping us all safe- his office is at the place where they make the movie Home& Away and on his first two days on patroll he had his photo taken 57 times with the tourists a lot if them girls who just wanted jack in the picture- I said to jack “what did you say when they asked you” and he said I just said’ oh ok then’!he wears this special rescue gear which says Australian Life Saving- surf & helicopter rescue and he works for the Council contracting rescue company- very struct.But he does take it very seriously and has done two individual rescues so far- just pulling people out of rips in distress.he gets $36 per hour when he turns 18- not many 17 year old rookies with both qualifications. Ruby & Sam say hi and Natalie gives you a massive hug of love. Please say merry Christmas to Nick & Irena for us please and have a nice couple of days and please keep sending us your messages- we look forward to then. Those bloody colds annoy me though – I will ship you over a big pak of antibiotics if you want. All our best wishes and love. Ian.

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

